PURE PHOTOGRAPHY & Gallery for Art, Media and Design

The exhibition by Heike Baltruweit and René Kühl shows unusual views of their everyday environment and allows visitors to experience art in a new dimension. Through Augmented Reality (AR)*, the real world merges with the virtual world: the abstract compositions "dissolve" and make their place of origin or their relation to painted works visible.

Heike Baltruweit sees her surroundings as a natural exhibition space and exhibits her photographs, which often seem to be painted, completely unprocessed. She finds the abstract aesthetic compositions in reflections in water, on weathered concrete walls, on dilapidated pavement and in disused factory buildings. The compositions of her photographs evoke associations with fine art or graphics. They show that many forms and representation techniques invented by artists can also be found photographically in the real world. Reflections of people on a plastic tarpaulin evoke associations with squeegee pictures by Gerhard Richter; reflections in water are reminiscent of swimming pool pictures by David Hockney.

René Kühl lives and works in Hamburg. The working processes, his photos, sculptures and mixed media artworks start with a conceptual approach. In his photos he captures very precise moments of minimalist banality. At the beginning he realizes his ideas three-dimensionally as sculpture. Through repetition, the capture of movement (such as smoke or liquid), moments that are almost invisible to us are captured in the picture. The colouring of the photos supports the clarity of the compositions and lets them radiate a special atmosphere.

In addition, works by Jill Ann Press, Will Barras, Inka Uzoma and Robert Laß will be shown.

*Augmented Reality (AR) stands for extended reality

Heike Baltruweit / René Kühl

Ceci n'est pas …
15.02.20  -  18.04.20

PURE PHOTOGRAPHY & Galerie für Kunst, Medien und Design

Die Ausstellung von Heike Baltruweit und René Kühl zeigt ungewohnte Sichten auf ihre Alltagsumgebung und lässt die Besucher Kunst in einer neuen Dimension erleben. Durch Augmented Reality (AR)* verschmilzt die reale mit der virtuellen Welt: Die abstrakten Kompositionen "lösen" sich auf und machen ihren Ursprungsort oder ihren Bezug zu gemalten Werken sichtbar.

Heike Baltruweit sieht ihre Umgebung als natürlichen Ausstellungsraum und stellt ihre oft wie gemalt wirkenden Fotografien völlig unbearbeitet aus. Die abstrakten ästhetischen Kompositionen findet sie in Spiegelungen im Wasser, an verwitterten Betonwänden, auf marodem Straßenpflaster und in stillgelegten Fabrikhallen. Die Kompositionen ihrer Fotografien rufen Assoziationen zu bildender Kunst oder Grafik hervor. Sie zeigen, dass viele von Künstlern erfundene Formen und Darstellungstechniken sich auch fotografisch in der realen Welt wiederfinden lassen. Spiegelungen von Menschen auf einer Plastikplane wecken Assoziationen zu Rakelbildern von Gerhard Richter; Reflektionen im Wasser erinnern an Schwimmbadbilder von David Hockney.

René Kühl lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg. Die Arbeitsprozesse, seine Fotos, Skulpturen und Mixed Media – Kunstwerke beginnen mit einem konzeptionellen Ansatz. Er fängt in seinen Fotos ganz präzise Momente von minimalistischer Banalität ein. Zu Beginn setzt er seine Ideen dreidimensional als Skulptur um. Durch Wiederholungen, das Einfangen von Bewegung ( wie z.B. Rauch oder Flüssigkeit) werden Momente, die für uns fast nicht sichtbar sind, im Bild fest-gehalten. Die Farbgebung der Fotos unterstützt die Klarheit der Kompositionen und lässt diese eine besondere Atmosphäre ausstrahlen.

Darüber hinaus werden Werke von Jill Ann Press, Will Barras, Inka Uzoma und Robert Laß gezeigt.

*Augmented Reality (AR) steht für erweiterte Realität

Heike Baltruweit / René Kühl

Ceci n'est pas …
15.02.20  -  31.08.20